SVicente's Blog

Follow me and you'll know what I like to do

USB Device over current status detected (solved!)

Hello “gALLera”!

Today I helped a friend that had a problem with his desktop MOBO. It presented the following message when it turned on:


USB Device over current status detected!!
THE SYSTEM WILL SHUTDOWN IN 15 SECONDS


and the computer actually shutted down in 15 seconds…

After I searched in Google for this message, I concluded that’s a common problem with many ASUS bios. Many users were desperate with this. Luckily for my friend I found a solution. I just disconnected the two plugges of front usb ports. And it worked!

Everybody happy at this time. One more hardware has been saved.

(With Gazebo’s – I Like Chopin – sound in background… I love this song…)

May 31, 2009 - Posted by | Life in general |

42 Comments »

  1. i have that kind of prob..can you help me with that??

    Comment by kenn | July 6, 2009 | Reply

    • Yes, sure! What’s going on. Cite your OS and version. The error message, too.

      Comment by svicente99 | July 6, 2009 | Reply

      • I have no idea what you guys are taliking about but can you please help me with this problem about the USB over current using simpler words? I just got a new wireless router and it started giving me this message. PLEASE HELP!!

        Comment by killmrmanson | April 1, 2011

      • If you put your router in one of the frontal usb connections maybe you have the same problem.

        Then you should open your case and take off some small wires that link usb to your motherboard. It works this – simple. If not, it’s another kind of problem…

        Comment by svicente99 | April 2, 2011

  2. Hello! I have the same problem. Its a brand new computer and everything worked fine till i got this message. Im not that good with computer so please if you wanna help me I would really appriciate if you talked with more easy understand terms! Ty!

    Comment by Axel | August 6, 2009 | Reply

    • Axel, I did this fix on May and let me remember what happened exactly….
      First of all, is your motherboard an Asus model?
      If is brand new why don’t go back to your seller to order its change?

      It’s a hardware problem, nothing to do with software. So what I did? I opened case computer, found usb cables that were plugged in front panel and disabled them (unplugged). But I think that IF the problem is located on back panel, there is no way, ’cause is directly assembled on motherboard. Only solution (I see…) would be replace it.

      Reply again if something remains not clear.
      Regards.

      Comment by svicente99 | August 7, 2009 | Reply

  3. Disconnecting the multi pin cable connecting to the front usb ports certainly worked for my system.

    Thanks heaps

    Comment by Darryl | December 10, 2009 | Reply

    • Thanks , it worked for me too by disconnecting the front usb ports
      Thanks a lot again

      Comment by Deepak Jothi | April 24, 2012 | Reply

  4. Well Guy, welcome to the team that love this song.
    There is nothing that simple don´t work with this song, I Like Chopin from Gazebo.
    I used to say that if all the cd´s and Md´s and Lp´s get burn, at least one cd or else of this song have to to be saved from the burm to the next generation,
    I Do love this song.

    From Copacabana, Riode Janeiro to the wolrd.

    Carlos Eduardo.

    Comment by Carlos Eduardo | February 27, 2010 | Reply

  5. Genius! It worked! Thanks!

    Comment by J | June 4, 2010 | Reply

  6. The deal is this…. there is a small circuit board on YOUR CASE that the usb from the motherboard connects to with a small cable. The small Circuit board on your CASE is bad, just unplug that USB from the motherboard and it will boot and run fine.
    I promise this will fix the problem.
    DAve

    Comment by Dave | June 8, 2010 | Reply

  7. i didnt work…

    Comment by AJ | October 19, 2010 | Reply

  8. I have bad engrish but lets try. I got that same error message. Then I took a look inside the front usb… is it port, jack or w/e… anyways I notized that one pin touched the metal frame surrounding that usb port. Maybe u kno what i mean. I straightened the pin and then my pc started up normally. Pins seem to be only a millimeter away from the metal frame.

    Comment by Spock | November 6, 2010 | Reply

    • Sgtspock, as other people has related, one of the easiest (and I’d still say: silly) solutions to this problem is just disconnect the frontal usb port of your pc. Weird, but it works.

      Comment by svicente99 | November 9, 2010 | Reply

    • Spock’s suggestion worked for me!

      Comment by Beck566 | January 1, 2011 | Reply

  9. just remove the front USD port … from the motherboard …

    Comment by NIco Tu | November 28, 2010 | Reply

    • Crazy solution, not?

      Comment by svicente99 | November 29, 2010 | Reply

  10. that didn’t work with me…

    Comment by Geanni | December 18, 2010 | Reply

  11. i disconnected my front usb but it still gives me the same error

    Comment by gheran | December 18, 2010 | Reply

    • Is Asus your motherboard? Model?…

      Comment by svicente99 | December 20, 2010 | Reply

  12. Many thanks, disconnecting the multi pin cable connecting to the front usb ports certainly worked for my system.
    You saved me a lot of grief!

    Comment by George | February 20, 2011 | Reply

    • Glad to hear this. Luck 2U.

      Comment by svicente99 | February 20, 2011 | Reply

  13. I have no idea what you guys are taliking about but can you please help me with this problem about the USB over current using simpler words? PLEASE!!

    Comment by killmrmanson | April 1, 2011 | Reply

  14. Ok, for those who are still facing the problem.. you need to remove both audio and USB fron pannel connection from motherboard.. it worked for me.. hope it resolves for you as well..

    Comment by Kiran | July 25, 2011 | Reply

  15. same problem here (M4A78T-E) i remove all usb pannel stil not working

    Comment by oshadha | September 4, 2011 | Reply

  16. i did remove the front usb cable from my motherboard but then the computer ask me to select boot media then pres a key… can anyone help me.. when i remove the cable did it also unconnect the motherboard to harddisk?

    thanks before..

    Comment by eric | September 7, 2011 | Reply

  17. i have an ASUS M4A87TD EVO without an USB- Device and have the same problem.

    Comment by BashersBash | September 11, 2011 | Reply

  18. i disconnected all front pannel connections and removed the m/b from the atx as well and connected keyboard,monitor and smps only. shit! the fault is still there “usb device overcurrent status detected!!”. i updated the bios also. no way, what a m/b is this. asuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuussss…….
    -sheri

    Comment by sherif | September 12, 2011 | Reply

  19. It worked! Thanks.

    Comment by Oskar Wieruszewski | October 13, 2011 | Reply

  20. I have an ASUS P5QL Pro with NOTHING ATTACHED to the USB ports and I get this message. For that matter, I have the motherboard sitting on a non-conductive surface, no case, power supply, video card, and SATA hard drive attached and I STILL get the message. So, disconnecting the front panel headers does me no good since I have nothing attached. I checked the headers and there is nothing shorting the pins. This is a brand new board. Any suggestions ? TIA

    Tex

    Comment by Tex | November 9, 2011 | Reply

  21. Hey there, I seem to have the same problem and it look like it has something to do with my Games controller. After that message pops up i disconect it and it works however when the computer is running fine and I want to play on my controller it doesnt seem to work, It’ really Thrustrating, Please help..

    Comment by Lukasz Felski | December 19, 2011 | Reply

  22. The root cause of the problem is that one of your computers USB pins are get connected to one or more pins in that USB. Which is transferring more current than usual to the motherboard. Your mother board is now telling you that if the system runs then it can harm the system, so its better to shutdown the system and solve the issue.
    so its a feature of your motherboard, not a problem.
    all the best.
    Regards,
    Sud

    Comment by Sud | February 7, 2012 | Reply

  23. u can also switch the power usb jumper to the other position, see if it works. mine did, didn’t work disconnecting the front panel usb..

    Comment by tibosee | February 16, 2012 | Reply

  24. SVincente, I just got an ASUS PC from a client that wouldn’t provide any video during the boot process and then shut down. I removed the video expansion board (two extra monitors for a total of three), and got video. I immediately saw the USB overpower message. I Googled the problem and your post came up at the top.

    Thank you for posting the solution. It was a one-minute diagnosis. The machine is now at the Winows desktop. Now, I will try adding the USB ports back two at a time (there are four on the front) and see if both are the problem or just one. Then I get to tackle the video issue.

    Thanks for the help!

    Comment by splait | May 11, 2012 | Reply

  25. Reseating my motherboard fixed this problem for me

    Comment by dan | July 10, 2012 | Reply

  26. i have same error that usb over current …….

    Comment by aji | August 20, 2012 | Reply

  27. thnx thnx it really work ^_^

    Comment by Rad | August 24, 2012 | Reply

  28. What fixed my issue is there is a jumper settings on your motherboard “PS2_USBPW1_4″ near the Lan port , putting the jumper to first 2 resolved my issue.

    Comment by randhir singh | October 31, 2012 | Reply

  29. Hi, its pleasant post regarding media print, we all be aware
    of media is a enormous source of facts.

    Comment by Lilia | March 20, 2013 | Reply

  30. I’m have de same “usb device over current status” problem except mine is on a notebook. Now how do i disconnect de usb port when opening up de notebook is itself a task to reckon with??

    Comment by Asamoah | July 25, 2013 | Reply

  31. can u make a video for this problem plss:)

    Comment by nathan | September 5, 2013 | Reply

    • Sorry, I can’t… I do not have desktop machines currently.

      Comment by svicente99 | September 6, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 56 other followers

