SVicente's Blog

Follow me and you'll know what I like to do

Firefox is already running but is not responding – Linux (Mandriva) bug

A couple of weeks ago I fighted with this terrific BUG in my Mandriva 2010.0 distro. And after I have tried several hints to solve this problem, one of them – VERY SIMPLE – definitively put Mozilla Firefox (3.6.9) woking on again. (The problem started when new version, 3.6.10, was trying to be updated…)

You should see, first, if your problem is not one of the 3 most usual cases. They are mentioned in Mozzila support repository as you can see in this link:

Firefox is already running but is not responding

But if it “resists” not starting, follow this track in “Linux Questions”:

http://www.linuxquestions.org/questions/mandriva-30/grief-after-installing-updates-832534/
I really hope this works for you. Next, my own reply (and the previous) when I explain what I did:

Old 10-01-2010, 12:11 AM #12
loadder
LQ Newbie
Registered: Sep 2010
Posts: 1
Rep: Reputation: 0 <!– (0)–>

I found a simple solution, I had an installation of a folder
previous version of firefox, I had the file libnssutil3.so.
What I did was replace the libnssutil3.so file in the folder /lib/
with of the previous version of firefox.
This solved the problem with firefox, thunderbird and URPM (i, e).
Here ‘s the link of the libnssutil3.so was i uploaded.
www.mediafire.com/?f3ckt49g9bsdaqn 

good luck
“the problems are not created or solved, only are transformed”


Last edited by loadder; 10-01-2010 at 12:12 AM. Reason: bad redaction

Old 10-04-2010, 12:20 AM #13
svicente99
LQ Newbie
Registered: Oct 2010
Posts: 1
Rep: Reputation: 0 <!– (0)–>

Thumbs up

 


 

Great and simple solution. Thanks a lot!!! I downloaded “libnssutil3.so” from this link you have mentioned and it works flawless!!! (if someone needs this same lib file I can send back. I made a copy on my account mail).

I was fighting with a Firefox bug (“Firefox is already running…”) since 3 weeks ago. I was closed to give up from fix it and now I am posting from Firefox again.

SVicente

October 14, 2010 - Posted by | Linux | , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

